THIS BLOG CHRONICLES A FAMILY MOTORCYCLE TRIP FROM CAPE TOWN TO SINGAPORE, FROM JANUARY TO APRIL 2012. THE GROUP COMPRISES MAL, SON JULIAN, DAUGHTER SHANNON, AND JOHN

Day 3 Kimberley to Pretoria-526 kms

01.01.12Day 3 Kb to Pta Mal

Shan writes:

I have a feeling the days begin quite differently in the respective rooms. After a few sets of exercises and stretches, Jules and I grab a coffee and start to pack our kit again, with a solid South African soapie on in the background. We plan on leaving at 08h30, so we’re sorted. With 40 kg of luggage spread across five or so bags (plus a spare tyre), carrying them down to the bikes is a little awkward, and a workout in and of itself. John’s bike is obviously already completely packed and ready (the man is showing extreme patience with the Taylors still at this point, although later on I’m fairly sure there’ll be a breaking point), and dad is not far behind. I have a feeling they get ready about four hours before Jules and I. Nonetheless… 08h30, as planned, we’re off.

I pick a theme song to head off to each day (I say this having actually only set up the habit yesterday), and today it’s the Aladdin theme song, “A Whole New World”. Somewhat corny, but with lyrics like: “with new horizons to explore” and “unbelievable sights, indescribable feelings”  it seems appropriate.

The ride today is long, but my ass hurts slightly less while riding (I have stolen my dad’s seat cushion, with no plans of returning it), my hands no longer tingle when we stop to rest, and I feel more and more confident of my bike’s ability to keep me upright and alive.

The scenery has been magical, passing from dry Karoo into greener country side, with rich-green maize fields growing out of burnt-red soil and then through the more lush Northwest Province, I am reminded of how incredible and dynamic our country actually is.

Day 3 Kb to Pta J, Andy, Mbose,Lollo, ShanStops at garages are fast becoming a highlight for me, as people sidle up to us to let us know they saw us on TV. Occasionally one will jump on a bike and pose for a photo, or will recruit the entire family to stand in for a shot or 20. Others hoot as they drive past, recognizing the bikes. Very surreal, since we feel so ordinary and yet are aware of how extraordinary the adventure really is.

Arrived late afternoon in Johannesburg where Jules and I will spend a few days while dad and John spend the time in Pretoria. We have two more visas to get, which hopefully will be completed by Friday. In the meantime, we’ll become tourists in South Africa’s City of Gold.

Distance travelled: 526 kms

11 responses

  1. John Saville in California

    Hi Mal …I have enjoyed your blog to-date Thanks! Feel like I’m right there with you – so keep up the great writing its fun to check in on your progress. Have a great time in Joburg and Pretoria….John Saville

    January 2, 2012 at 23:11

    • Thanks John, we are still in Pretoria, so now internet access is easy, staying with my cousin, but will get more challenging soon. The stories will get more exciting too! Hope you are well. Cheers,Mal

      January 3, 2012 at 09:07

  2. Gordon

    Well done guys. Appreciate your messages. God bless and safe cycling! Oh and a happy Nee Year to you all!

    January 2, 2012 at 21:25

    • Thanks Gord-Missing all you guys. Hope you are having a good time with Val and family. Love to you all.

      January 2, 2012 at 21:42

  3. Nathan

    Enjoying following the blog, can’t wait for you guys to get into “dark Africa” when do you plan to leave SA?

    January 2, 2012 at 15:30

    • We’re stuck in Pretoria having to get 2 visas. Fingers crossed to get them both this week, and then off.

      January 2, 2012 at 18:02

    • Nathan
      we are awaiting a final visa. then we’re into zim asap
      regards
      John

      January 4, 2012 at 22:34

  4. Shan, you actually did it – you go girl!! What did your dad have to say?

    January 2, 2012 at 15:14

    • I just claimed daughter privileges, it’s the altruistic nature in parents.

      January 2, 2012 at 15:18

  5. Roger

    Feeling super envious with 1 day of my holiday left, keep writing!

    January 2, 2012 at 14:06

    • Rog, did you come right for a place to stay in CT?!! How was the race?

      January 2, 2012 at 15:19

Leave a comment